A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Bevin appoints two to Judicial Nominating panel; Valentine named Coldstream councilman

Gov. Matt Bevin made the following appointments to Kentucky Boards and Commissions:

Kristin Reese Williams and Dennis Jackson have been appointed to the Judicial Nominating Commission for the 2nd Judicial Circuit and District of Kentucky.

Williams, of Paducah, is a small business owner. She shall serve for a term expiring Jan. 1, 2020.

Jackson, of Paducah, is a retired educator. He shall serve for a term expiring Jan. 1, 2020.

The Judicial Nominating Commission consists of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (serving as chair), two members from the Kentucky Bar Association, and four gubernatorial appointees who are not members of the Kentucky Bar Association (equally representing the two major political parties). Members cannot hold any other public office or any office in a political party or organization.

Jerry Jonathan Valentine has been appointed to the City Council for the City of Coldstream.

Valentine, of Louisville, is a technical consultant for Humana. He shall serve until the position is filled in accordance with the results of the November 2018 midterm election, pursuant to the provisions of Section 152 of the Kentucky Constitution.

The City of Coldstream, in Jefferson County, is a home rule-class city with a population of approximately 1,100.

Ashok Raj has been appointed to the Pediatric Cancer Research Trust Fund Board.

Raj, of Louisville, is a physician at the University of Louisville. He shall serve for the remainder of an unexpired term ending Sept. 1, 2019.
The Pediatric Cancer Trust Fund Board was created for the purpose of administering and distributing funds from the trust.

Shirley Wiseman has been appointed to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission.

Wiseman, of Lexington, is homebuilder and realtor. She shall represent real estate licensees and serve for a term expiring June 15, 2020.

The Kentucky Real Estate Commission was created to examine, regulate and license real estate brokers and sales associates throughout the state. It is composed of five gubernatorial appointees.

From Governor’s Office Communications

Related Posts

Leave a Comment