Enter your e-mail to sign up
for Our Daily News Updates
Monday, October 7, 2013

Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer named Elected City Official of the Year by League of Cities

Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer received the 2013 Elected City Official of the Year award during the Kentucky League of Cities Conference & Expo in Covington.

Louisville Mayor Greg Fisher

Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer

The award brings recognition to city officials that demonstrate leadership, innovation and commitment to community advancement. An independent panel of judges selected Fischer as the award winner and Taylor Mill Mayor Daniel Bell as the runner-up.

“Mayor Fisher is a shining example of all that is good about cities. His commitment to compassion, literacy, innovation and health are transformative,” said Jon Steiner, KLC executive director/CEO. “He is a tireless worker in building a climate where every citizen matters and his focus on investing in Louisville is paying huge dividends for the city and the Commonwealth,” said Steiner.

The judges recognized Fischer’s accomplishments since he took office in 2010. “He’s also a tremendous collaborator … across his city, the Commonwealth and the nation,” said Steiner.

Previous Elected City Official of the Year winners include Wilmore Mayor Harold Rainwater (2009), Pikeville City Manager Donovan Blackburn (2010), Prospect Mayor Todd Eberle (2011) and Lebanon Mayor Gary Crenshaw (2012).

From Kentucky League of Cities