A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Volunteers from across the state recognized as part of annual Governor’s Service Awards

Gov. Matt Bevin, Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton and Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) Secretary Vickie Yates Brown Glisson honored 15 individuals and four groups from across Kentucky for their volunteer and service contributions at the 22nd annual Governor’s Service Awards Tuesday.

The annual awards are coordinated by the Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS), part of the CHFS.

Nine former KCCVS commissioners and program directors who went above and beyond to further service in Kentucky were also recognized at the Capitol Rotunda event.

Bevin praised the spirit of volunteerism embodied by Kentuckians, who seek to help their neighbors.

“The impact that AmeriCorps and other volunteer programs have in this state is literally impossible to measure, and I’m grateful to all of you who serve,” said Bevin. “These awards are a small token of our appreciation. What you’ve done—your example and its ripple effect—is truly immeasurable.”

Hampton challenged citizens to follow the example set by the individuals and groups being honored.

“As I travel around Kentucky, I am privileged to meet lots of people who want to do something to make the Commonwealth a better place,” said Lt. Gov. Hampton. “I congratulate all of today’s honorees and encourage each one of us to do our own part in our own way.”

Glisson noted the significant impact that the award winners make in their communities.

“From fighting opioid abuse to mentoring at-risk youth and serving meals to seniors, these volunteers are meeting needs at the local level,” said Glisson. “They show that every one of us has talent and time to do something good. For their wide-reaching contributions, they are Commonwealth’s shining stars.”

KCCVS Executive Director Joe Bringardner said the Governor’s Office launched the volunteer awards program in 1975. Since 1995, KCCVS has administered the program.

“Kentucky is fortunate to have an incredible force of who Gov. Bevin calls “servant leaders”—those who dedicate themselves to helping others. We honor the best of the best here today.”

For more information about the Governor’s Service Awards, Kentucky’s AmeriCorps programs or volunteerism, call the KCCVS at 502-564-7420 or visit their website.

2017 Governor’s Service Award Recipients

Group Awards:

Citi Bank – Florence/Boone County: Nominated by Lauren Palmer
Hope House – Bowling Green/Warren County: Nominated by Kevin Mays
Northeast Christian Church – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Laura Ryan
Toward A Sustainable Kentucky (TASK) VISTA AmeriCorps Program – Statewide: Nominated by Kristen Hedgebeth

Student Awards:

Rebecca Dever – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Laura Ryan
Salma Geneidy – Lexington/Fayette County: Nominated by Kerby Gilstrap
Sarah Haney – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Alex Muckler
Virginia “Ginny” Reams – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Kayla Payne

Individual Awards:

Lauren Gabbard – Highland Heights/Campbell County: Nominated by Paige Molina
Mitch Haralson – Covington/Kenton County: Nominated by Regina Owens
Amanda Jackson – Ashland/Boyd County: Nominated by Caitlin Szabo
Lauren Kinser – Somerset/Pulaski County: Nominated by Paige Molina
Nigel Masamvu – Florence/Boone County: Nominated by Lauren Palmer
Harold McDaniel – Cox’s Creek/Nelson County: Nominated by Jon Auslander-Price
Alison “Ali” Miller – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Nikkey Blackman
Randall Richardson – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Nicole Smith
Kendall Ross – Louisville/Jefferson County: Nominated by Nicole Smith
Chris Schimmoeller – Frankfort/Franklin County: Nominated by Brent Sweger
Peggy Schutzman – Walton/Boone County: Nominated by Lauren Palmer

Exemplary KCCVS Commissioners and Program Directors:

Aaron Anderkin – Lexington/Fayette County: Commissioner from 2006-2014, Chair from 2009-2011
Sue Brammer – Maysville/Mason County: Commissioner from 2010-2016, Program Committee member, current grant reviewer
Ronnie Dunn – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 2011-2015, Program Committee Member, current grant reviewer
Janet Gates – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 2008-2015, Vice Chair, Program Committee member, current grant reviewer
Jamine Hamner – Lexington/Fayette County: Commissioner from 2008-2016, Program Committee member, current Grant Reviewer
Mary Sue Hubbard – Murray/Calloway County: Commissioner from 2010-2016, former Governor Awards Committee Chair
Betty Martin – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 2008-2014, Program Committee member
Jana Sturm – Frankfort/Franklin County: Commissioner from 1999-2013
Eugene Newsome – Pikeville/Pike County: UNITE Service Corps Program Director from 2007-2015

From Governor’s Office

Related Posts

Leave a Comment