A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

BCTC president Augusta Julian among seven retiring administrators to be recognized at PTK Catalyst 2019

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) will recognize seven retiring college presidents and chancellors with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award during PTK Catalyst 2019, the Society’s annual convention, April 4-6 in Orlando, Florida.

These awards are given to retiring college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students over the course of their career. Recipients are nominated by the students on their campus.

Phi Theta Kappa students have a 91 percent student success rate, and research has shown that strong presidential leadership and support increases the success of their chapter and the depth of the member’s college experience.

The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Bennett, longtime president of St. Petersburg College in Florida. The 2019 recipients are:

Dr. Augusta Julian

Dr. John Avendano
President, Kankakee Community College

Dr. Jean Conway
President Emeritus, Eastfield College

Dr. Kenneth Ender
President, Harper College

Dr. Glen Gabert
President, Hudson County Community College
New Jersey

Dr. Augusta Julian
President/CEO, retired
Bluegrass Community and Technical College

Dr. T. Eston “Bud” Marchant
President, Central Carolina Community College
North Carolina

David Reist
President, Highland Community College

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations. Learn more at ptk.org.

From Bluegrass Community and Technical College

Related Posts

Leave a Comment