A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Bourbon County Schools becomes state’s newest district declared 100 percent Energy Star certified

The Kentucky School Boards Association announced Tuesday that Bourbon County Schools has joined the growing list of Kentucky school districts that are 100 percent Energy Star certified, placing the district in the top 25 percent of the most energy-efficient school districts in the nationwide. Bourbon County is the 23rd school district in Kentucky that is 100 percent ENERGY STAR.

Bourbon County High School became the district’s fifth Energy Star School in December.

First Row: Superintendent Amy Baker, Athletic Director Wendy MaHanna, District Energy Manager Chuck Tanner and Bourbon County High School Principal Kerri Katz. Back row: Energy Manager Jim McClanahan, girls basketball coaches Bill Watson and Jeff Hamilton, Rick Valentine and Jeff Fristoe of Comfort Process Solutions. (Photo from KSBA)

Energy Star Schools use 35 percent less energy and generate 35 percent less greenhouse gas than similar schools across the nation. Since 2010, the number of Energy Star schools in Kentucky has grown from 68 to 439.

Energy Manager Jim McClanahan presented a certificate signed by Gov. Matt Bevin and Energy and Environment Cabinet Secretary Charles Snavely to Principal Kerrie Katz at the district’s January Board of Education meeting.

“KSBA is extremely pleased to recognize Bourbon County Schools for becoming 100 percent Energy Star,” said McClanahan. “This standing takes commitment from the board of education, superintendent and staff. Taking action to manage energy-efficiency demonstrates commitment to fiscal responsibility and to also managing the district budget.”

In addition to Bourbon County, these school districts have achieved 100 percent Energy Star certification: Anchorage Independent, Burgin Independent, Butler County, Caldwell County, Corbin Independent, Crittenden County, Elliott County, Frankfort Independent, Fulton County, Henry County, Grayson County, Lee County, Marion County, Middlesboro Independent, Pendleton County, Robertson County, Scott County, Southgate Independent, Walton-Verona Independent, Warren County, Williamstown Independent and Woodford County.

“With rising energy costs typically the second highest line item in a school’s budget, superintendents and boards of education are taking action to achieve savings through energy management,” said Ron Willhite, director of the KSBA School Energy Managers Project.

The KSBA-SEMP program has supported energy-efficiency initiatives in Kentucky’s 173 school districts since 2010 by identifying resources to place energy managers in schools and through education, technical and administrative assistance. Energy Star has remained the operational framework for advancing energy-efficiency practices in many school district portfolios. These efforts of the KSBA-SEMP program have produced powerful results through fiscal 2017, saving more than $170 million cumulative avoided costs.

From Kentucky School Boards Association

Related Posts

Leave a Comment