A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Bryan Station’s Phillip Hawkins selected Class 6A Coach of the Year by KFCA; Defenders finish 10-2

KyForward staff

Bryan Station enjoyed one of the biggest turnarounds in state history on the football field this season, going from a 3-8 record in 2019 to a 10-2 finish this fall.

As a result, Bryan Station’s Phillip Hawkins has been selected the Class 6A Coach of the Year by the Kentucky Football Coaches Association.

Phillip Hawkins

After losing the season opener by a 7-6 score to Scott County, Hawkins guided the Defenders to 10 consecutive wins. Bryan Station posted victories over Madison Central and Oldham County in the Class 6A state playoffs before dropping a 21-16 decision to Paul Laurence Dunbar in the regional championship game.

Hawkins, in his first year as head coach at Bryan Station, also guided the Defenders to a district championship and the program’s best season in more than 20 years.

Bryan Station featured running back Joseph Bond, who rushed for 1,395 yards and 15 touchdowns this season. Bond gained 125 yards and scored three touchdowns in Bryan Station’s 58-29 win over Oldham County in the district championship game.

In the regular-season finale, Bond rushed for 206 yards and four touchdowns as the Defenders coasted to a 54-39 win over Simon Kenton.

(Information compiled from FCPS and staff reports)

Related Posts

Leave a Comment