A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

CPE President Thompson appointed to steering committee of Education Commission of the States

The Council on Postsecondary Education is pleased to announce that President Aaron Thompson has been appointed to the steering committee for the Education Commission of the States, a non-partisan policy group for all 50 states.

Aaron Thompson

In this role, Thompson will provide policy leadership to the commission and serve as the leader of Kentucky’s delegation.

“I am looking forward to working alongside my dedicated colleagues in Kentucky, and those from across the nation, to advance effective education policy that will benefit students from all backgrounds,” said Thompson.

The education commission serves as a partner to state policymakers and education leaders by providing personalized support, information and opportunities for collaboration. Through the commission’s programs and services, education leaders gain the insight and experience needed to create better education policy.

Kentucky’s commissioners include:

• Rep. Derrick Graham

• Governor Matt Bevin

• Sen. Mike Wilson

• Gary Houchens, associate professor, Western Kentucky University

• Bob Hutchison, owner, McDonalds of Eastern Kentucky

• Sherry Powers, dean, Eastern Kentucky University

From Council on Postsecondary Education

Related Posts

Leave a Comment