A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Dunbar senior named Youth Leader of the Year; four other students recognized

By Tammy L. Lane
Special to KyForward
Sahil Nair, a rising senior at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, has been named Lexington’s 2014 Youth Leader of the Year.
He received a $500 scholarship plus a trip, sponsored by Holifield Photography, to this fall’s National Council on Youth Leadership Conference in St. Louis, where he meet join other Youth Salute leaders from across the country.

Sahil Nair (Photo provided)

Sahil Nair (Photo provided)

Sahil has been president of Dunbar’s chapter of Future Business Leaders of America, chairman of the Spanish Honor Society’s executive board, vice president of the Student Y-Club, co-founder and co-captain of the Science Olympiad, associate director of the Prichard Committee’s Student Voice, chief justice of the Kentucky Youth Assembly and meeting planner for the Mayor’s Youth Council.
Sahil also received the 2014 Distinguished Leader Award from Leadership Lexington Youth.
School winners from among 762 outstanding high school juniors in 45 Central Kentucky high schools were recognized at the Youth Salute 2013-2014 awards ceremony. Joining Sahil were Bryan Station’s Jordan King, Henry Clay’s Anna McDonald, Lafayette’s Taylor Bagley and Tates Creek’s Tapas Parikh.
In other highlights:
• Michaela Carter of Tates Creek received a $4,000 scholarship from Georgetown College;
• Jimmy Chen of Dunbar received a $500 scholarship provided by Class 101;
• Jordan King of Bryan Station received an ACT/SAT preparation course valued at $500;
• Taylor Bagley of Lafayette received a $100 leadership award from Central Bank & Trust Co.
Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership, which is chaired by businessman Jim Holifield.
High school juniors are nominated by their guidance counselors, teachers, principals and other community leaders. They must have at least a 3.0 grade point average and have held at least two leadership roles in school-, religious- or community-sponsored organizations during the past two years.
Tammy L. Lane is a media and communications specialist with the Fayette County Public Schools.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment