A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Eastern Kentucky ‘Promise Zone’ designation aimed at accelerating progress in region

An eight-county region of Eastern Kentucky will be among the areas named as “Promise Zones” by the White House, state officials announced. The designation means the federal government will partner with these zones to accelerate public-private partnerships, promote job creation and education opportunities, and improve access to federal grant programs.

“As we know, there is no single solution to the many challenges facing eastern Kentucky; rather, any meaningful plan will require a broad combination of efforts to transform the economy of this region. The Promise Zone is a very exciting and important component of that path for success that will make an accelerated positive impact on the future of Appalachia,” said Gov. Beshear.

Bell, Clay, Harlan, Knox, Leslie, Letcher, Perry and Whitley counties are covered in the Promise Zone, which is one of only five in the nation.

“The Promise Zone is just the kind of partnership that will spark new innovative efforts to grow the economy, empower new leaders and support families in eastern Kentucky. The project’s focused efforts to partner with local citizens to revitalize their communities through strategic, regional approaches dovetail perfectly with our work in the SOAR initiative (Shaping Our Appalachian Region). This is a rare opportunity, and I am excited about the prospects for our people and our state.”

From Kentucky.gov, published reports

Related Posts

Leave a Comment