A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

EKU Athletics Hall of Fame 2019 induction class to be enshrined on Sept. 28; Bugg, Ison among five inductees

The Eastern Kentucky University Athletics Hall of Fame 2019 induction class will be enshrined inside the Perkins Building on Sept. 28.

The 2019 induction class includes: Patrick Bugg (football, 2003-06), Jack Ison (football, 1967-96), Lisa Malloy (track/cross country, 1987-92), Don Richardson (baseball, 1952-54, 1957), and Mike Smith (basketball, 1988-92).

The activities begin with a luncheon at noon. The group will also be recognized during the Colonels’ football game against Tennessee State later that day at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the luncheon are $25 and can be purchased by calling the ticket office at (859) 622-2122, or Darian Westerfield at (859) 622-5073. The deadline for registration is Sept. 20. Tickets will not be sold at the event.

EKU’s 2019 Hall of Fame class includes (left to right): Patrick Bugg, Jack Ison, Lisa Malloy, Don Richardson and Mike Smith.

Bugg was a two-time All-American, becoming one of only seven players in EKU history to reach All-America status twice. He ranks ninth on the all-time list for receiving yards in Colonel history, finishing his career with 1,856 yards and 23 touchdown catches.

Ison was an assistant football coach at EKU for 30 seasons, coaching the defensive backs and linebackers at different times while also serving as the defensive coordinator. He implemented a new powerlifting regimen in 1977 that helped prepare Colonel teams for national dominance.

Malloy was named the Ohio Valley Conference Female Athlete of the Year in 1988-89, was a two-time Ohio Valley Conference Cross Country Runner of the Year and a two-time Academic All-American.

Richardson compiled a pitching record of 22-7 and helped EKU win the OVC Championship in 1954. He went on to coach the Madison Central High School baseball team for 35 years, leading the Indians to a 40-0 record and a state title in 1982.

Smith closed his career as Eastern’s all-time leading rebounder with 977 boards, a mark that still stands today, and scored 1,077 points. In 2009, he was named to the 15-player EKU All-Century Basketball Team.

For more information on the EKU Athletics Hall of Fame, please contact Karl Park, Executive Director of the EKU Athletics Hall of Fame, at karl.park@eku.edu.

From Eastern Kentucky University

Related Posts

Leave a Comment