A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Georgetown Middle School teacher Erin Elizabeth Ball named Kentucky’s 2020 Teacher of the Year

Erin Elizabeth Ball, a language arts teacher at Georgetown Middle School in Scott County, is the 2020 Kentucky Teacher of the Year. Ball has four years of teaching experience in Scott County Schools.

Valvoline Inc™ and the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) made the announcement May 20 at a ceremony at the Berry Mansion in Frankfort. Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Derrick Ramsey, Commissioner of Education Wayne Lewis and Valvoline CEO Sam Mitchell were on hand to make the presentation.

Erin Elizabeth Ball, center, a language arts teacher at Georgetown Middle School (Scott County), was named the 2020 Kentucky Teacher of the Year at a May 20 ceremony in Frankfort. (Photo by Danielle Harris)

Melanie Callahan, a 4th-grade teacher at London Elementary (Laurel County), is the 2020 Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Matthew Kaufmann, an English teacher at Marion C. Moore School (Jefferson County), is the 2020 High School Teacher of the Year.

The three joined 21 other teachers from across the state honored with 2020 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards.

“These teachers ignite learning and provide exemplary instruction in classrooms throughout our Commonwealth,” Lewis said. “They are student-focused leaders and stewards of change. I look forward to working with them as we map a course to close the achievement gap and raise the learning bar to ensure that all of our students reach higher levels of learning.”

Ball received $10,000 and a commemorative art-glass statuette from Valvoline, and Callahan and Kaufmann each received $3,000 and a customized art glass statuette. In addition, the KDE will provide an ambassadorship or suitable alternative for Ball, who also will represent the state in the 2020 National Teacher of the Year competition.

The remaining 21 winners each received $500 cash awards. All 24 teachers received framed certificates and were recognized at a luncheon following the ceremony.

Twenty-four outstanding Kentucky educators were recognized May 20 as Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners. (Photo by Danielle Harris)

“It is my pleasure to once again recognize the 24 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners and the Kentucky Teachers of the Year,” said Sam Mitchell, CEO of Valvoline. “Having the opportunity to recognize and support outstanding teachers that bring energy, passion and dedication to the classroom highlights our commitment to education, especially in preparing students to excel in a global society.”

Valvoline and the KDE co-sponsor the Kentucky Teacher Achievement Awards. Applications for the program were distributed across the state, and the first tier of the selection process was completed in March, with 24 teachers selected as 2020 Valvoline Inc. Teacher Achievement Award winners.

The nine top scorers – three each from the elementary, middle and high school levels – were selected, and teams of educators visited their classrooms to view them at work and to conduct personal interviews. From those nine, three were selected as 2020 Kentucky Teachers of the Year. The selection of the overall Kentucky Teacher of the Year was based on the compilation of scores from all phases of the judging.

The Kentucky Teacher Awards program combines the best elements of what was formerly known as the Ashland Teacher Achievement Awards. Now, as an independent, publicly traded company with its world headquarters in Lexington, Kentucky, Valvoline is a proud sponsor of the Teacher Achievement Awards and the Kentucky Teacher of the Year programs. This marks the 19th year the Kentucky Department of Education and Ashland/Valvoline have partnered to honor Kentucky educators. Since 1988, the program has awarded more than $850,000 to 596 teachers in grades K-12.

This article originally appeared in Kentucky Teacher, a publication of the Kentucky Department of Education.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment