A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Governor’s Service Awards presented to 12 individuals, six groups from across Kentucky

Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton and Cabinet for Health and Family Services Secretary Adam Meier honored 12 individuals and six groups from across Kentucky for their volunteer and service contributions at the 24th annual Governor’s Service Awards in Frankfort.

“The men and women honored today personify the servant’s heart,” said Hampton. “We are blessed to have so many Kentuckians who generously use their time, talent, and treasure to assist our neighbors and improve our communities.”

Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton

“Today’s award winners are shining examples of inspiration for us all,” added Meier. “Their unique stories have a common thread: they all help us and they do it not for recognition but to help others in their community.”

Serve Kentucky, an agency within CHFS, coordinates the annual awards, which date back to the 1970s.

“Kentucky is fortunate to have an abundance of talented volunteers,” said Joe Bringardner, Serve Kentucky Executive Director. “This group represents a small number of the exceptional people from all over the state who do whatever it takes to help our families, friends, and neighbors.”

In addition to coordinating the Governor’s Service Awards, Serve Kentucky currently administers 20 AmeriCorps programs with more than $11.5 million in federal grant funds along with supporting other community service programs across the Commonwealth. State Service Commissions oversee the annual grant competition that awards funding to AmeriCorps State programs, determine social needs in their states, set policy and program priorities, provide training and assistance, support national days of service, and promote service and volunteering.

You can watch the awards ceremony, which was presented live, on the CHFS Facebook page.

For more information about the Governor’s Service Awards, Kentucky’s AmeriCorps programs or volunteerism, call Serve Kentucky at 502-564-7420 or visit their website at www.serve.ky.gov.

A list of honorees and their hometowns follows.

2019 Governor’s Service Award Recipients

Volunteer Service Award

• Christopher Crumrine – Lexington, Fayette County
• Connie Crick – Mortons Gap, Hopkins County
• Paul Kearney – Lexington, Fayette County

Youth Service Award

• Boyd County Branch of the Kentucky Youth Council for Volunteer Service – Ashland, Boyd County

Veteran Volunteer Service Award

• Michael Cory Felts – Bowling Green, Warren County
• Jo Ann Orr – Louisville, Jefferson County

National Service Award

• AmeriCorps Program: JCPS REACH Corps – Louisville, Jefferson County
• AmeriCorps Member: Emily Bowman – Corbin, Knox County
• AmeriCorps Member: Kody Ruark – Carlisle, Nicholas County
• Senior Corps Member: Roberta Cervantes – Paducah, McCracken County

National Service Alumni Award

• Warren Bocard – Ashland, Boyd County

Group Service Award

• Southern Kentucky Cadet Squadron – Bowling Green, Warren County
• Faith-Based: Community Mission Team – Mount Vernon, Rockcastle County
Nonprofit Service Award
• Alpha Phi Omega – Alpha Zeta Chapter at the University of Kentucky – Lexington, Fayette County

Business Service Award

• Paducah Bank – Paducah, McCracken County

Lifetime Achievement Award – Posthumous

• Angela McKinney – Frankfort, Franklin County

Lifetime Achievement Award – Active

• Ann E. Morgan – Lexington, Fayette County
• Luther Brown – Louisville, Jefferson County

From Cabinet for Health and Family Services

Related Posts

Leave a Comment