A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Henry Clay, Dunbar seniors named National Youth Leaders of the Year as part of Youth Salute Program

For the first time in the 37-year history of the local Youth Salute program, two Lexington students have received the top two national awards. Henry Clay High School’s Anne Boggess was selected as the 2017 National Female Youth Leader of the Year and Paul Laurence Dunbar’s Zsombor Gal as the National Male Youth Leader of the Year. They accepted congratulations and $1,000 scholarships during an awards banquet sponsored by the National Council on Youth Leadership and Washington University in St. Louis.

Paul Laurence Dunbar’s Zsombor Gal, right, and Henry Clay High School’s Anne Boggess have been named 2017 National Male and Female Youth Leaders of the Year, respectively (Photo from FCPS)

As local honorees, these outstanding seniors received an all-expense-paid trip to the council’s annual gathering in Missouri, where this year’s theme was Town Meeting on Tomorrow. Youth Salute leaders from across the nation, including three others from Central Kentucky, attended the Oct. 21-24 conference.

Zsombor, who was tapped as Lexington Youth Leader of the Year last spring, has served on the Superintendent’s Advisory Council in Fayette County Public Schools and on the Mayor’s Youth Council, as secretary of the executive committee of the Kentucky Paleontological Society, and as president of the Kentucky Junior Historical Society. He has also been JV administrative captain of Dunbar’s Academic Team, president of the school’s Spanish Honor Society, president of the Science Honor Society, and treasurer of the Dunbar Cultural Society.

At Henry Clay, Anne has served as freshman and sophomore class vice president, FCA leader, Y-Club service coordinator, student representative on the Principal Selection Committee, chair of the Election Committee, and Student Council representative. She has also served on the Mayor’s Youth Council and the Neighborhood Youth Council, and taught Sunday school for children with special needs.

The local Youth Salute program is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership. Students are nominated in their junior year by their high school counselors, teachers, principals, or other community leaders. For questions, contact Jim Holifield at 859-276-2040.

From Fayette County Public Schools

Related Posts

Leave a Comment