A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Jackson Energy employees chip in for landscaping improvement efforts in Beattyville, Mt. Vernon

Jackson Energy employees recently helped two communities make a good first impression on visitors. Welcome signs, a tourism center and a museum in Mount Vernon and Beattyville received facelifts with new landscaping and volunteer labor provided by co-op employees.

Jackson Energy employees donated labor to spruce up welcome signs in Rockcastle County’s Mount Vernon community (Photo provided)

Two welcome signs in Mount Vernon received new mulch, flowers, landscaping fabric and shrubs were trimmed. In Beattyville, landscaping and a water wheel received updates at the Three Forks Historical Center and the Beattyville/Lee County Tourism office.

More than 20 employees worked at each site to make improvements. The projects were coordinated by Executive Administrative Assistant Lisa Baker and President & CEO Carol Wright. Wright said Jackson Energy stands by its name as a cooperative and “this is us demonstrating concern for our community.”

Jackson Energy donated $1,000 to each project and CoBank’s Sharing Success fund matched Jackson Energy’s donation for the Beattyville project. CoBank is a financial lending agency based in Denver, Colorado, and primarily provides financial services to rural areas.

The Three Forks Historical Center and Beattyville/Lee County Tourism office received a facelift with new landscaping with the volunteer efforts of Jackson Energy employees (Photo provided)

One of the projects will be submitted to the “Beautify the Bluegrass” contest, which is a partnership with Kentucky Living and Gov. Matt Bevin. The project encourages people all across Kentucky to improve the physical appearance of the Bluegrass.

“Our goal is for you as community members to identify something in your community that you can be involved in repairing, or enhancing, or beautifying,” said Bevin.

Along with two public awards, the Governor’s Award and the Commonwealth Award, there is a specific category for electric co-ops. The winner of the “Cooperative Award” is chosen by Gov. Bevin.

Jackson Energy is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative serving 51,000 members in Southeastern Kentucky.

From Jackson Energy Cooperative

Related Posts

Leave a Comment