A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Jones, Cassity top list of honorees for annual Bluegrass Tomorrow Vision Awards Oct. 30

Former First Lady Elizabeth “Libby” Jones and Jessamine County Judge Neal Cassity will be presented with Bluegrass Tomorrow’s most prestigious Vision Awards at its annual awards program October 30.


Libby Jones will receive the 2013 Josephine Abercrombie Award for her untiring service to the equine and agriculture industry, the Bluegrass Conservancy, the American Farmland Trust and the Bluegrass community.


Click to register now

Click to register now

Retiring Jessamine County Judge Executive Neal Cassity will receive the Legacy Award for his service to Jessamine County and the Bluegrass region for 24 years


The Annual Vision Awards Breakfast will be held at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort. The breakfast is open to the public. To register www.bluegrasstomorrow.org.


Other honorees are:


Alston Kerr, long-time chair of the Kentucky Horse Park Commission and Foundation, the Equine Agriculture Vision Award;


Dr. Bonnie Banker, who recently retired as Academic Dean at Asbury University after 43 years, the Education Vision Award;


Margaret Graves, longtime land advocate, who has served the Bluegrass Conservancy and the Fayette County Rural Land Management Board with distinction, Conservation Preservation Vision Award;


Griffin Van Meter, NoLi Community Development, noted for his revitalization efforts on Lexington’s North Side and Jefferson Street, Young Professionals Vision Award);


David Boggs, executive director of Opportunity for Work and Learning (OWL), a 52-year-old nonprofit serving those facing barriers to employment, Human Service Award; and


Kentucky American Water for is wide-ranging commitment to environmental quality, the Green Sustainability Vision Award).


The Robert Clay President’s Award will be presented to Bluegrass Tomorrow’s outstanding board member.


Former First Lady Elizabeth “Libby” Jones is passionate about the preservation and protection of Bluegrass soils and the Equine/Agriculture industry. She forged a relationship with the American Farmland Trust when her husband, Brereton, was governor and helped attract the first American Farmland Trust Summit to Lexington this October. She served on the original Bluegrass Tomorrow board of directors and was a founding member of the Bluegrass Conservancy, which was created by Bluegrass Tomorrow.


She grew up on her family’s Airdrie Farm in Woodford County, internationally recognized for its thoroughbred horses, and she and Brereton started Airdrie Stud in 1972. She also recently attracted Ted Turner to come to Woodford County to help the Bluegrass Conservancy celebrate the milestone of putting over 10,000 acres of the region’s land under conservation easements.


Jessamine County Judge Executive William Neal Cassity has served in this role since 1990 and has announced his retirement. A fifth generation Jessamine Countian, Cassity has served the Bluegrass community for many years. He serves on the board of the Bluegrass Area Development District, the Beef Cattle Association, and the Lexington/Jessamine County MPO. He provided the leadership to increase the county’s public protection departments, secure funding for an industrial park and renovations at Camp Nelson Heritage Park and High Bridge Park. His leadership resulted in a county wide water treatment facility and increased environmental awareness through creation of programs like Kentucky River Clean Sweep, Countywide Clean-up and a county-wide recycling center. He is credited with getting county and city governments to work together in many ways, particularly on a central dispatch for 911 calls.


From Bluegrass Tomorrow

Related Posts

Leave a Comment