A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Judicial Nominating Commission announces nominees for Fayette district judgeship

The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced nominees to fill the District Court judicial vacancy for Fayette County. Fayette makes up the 22nd Judicial District and the vacancy is in the district’s Division 4.

The three nominees for the District Court judgeship are attorneys Shannon Leigh Brooks-English, Melissa Moore Murphy and Gregory Adam Napier, all of Lexington.

Brooks-English serves as a public defender for the Kentucky Department of Public Advocacy. She received her juris doctor from Saint Louis University School of Law.

Murphy is an attorney for Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government. She received her juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Napier is the owner of the Troutman & Napier law firm. He received his juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

The judicial seat became vacant when Judge Julie Muth Goodman was elected as a Fayette County Circuit Court judge in November.

District Court judges handle juvenile matters, city and county ordinances, misdemeanors, violations, traffic offenses, probate of wills, arraignments, felony probable cause hearings, small claims involving $2,500 or less, civil cases involving $5,000 or less, voluntary and involuntary mental commitments and cases relating to domestic violence and abuse.

From Administrative Office of the Courts

Related Posts

Leave a Comment