A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Judicial Nominating Commission announces nominees for upcoming Court of Appeals vacancy

The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., on Tuesday announced nominees to fill an upcoming vacancy on the Court of Appeals. The vacancy is in the 7th Appellate District, 2nd Division. The district is composed of 22 Eastern Kentucky counties.

The three nominees for the Court of Appeals judgeship are attorneys Gene Smallwood Jr. of Whitesburg, Jimmie Garner Vanover of Prestonsburg and Marcia Lynn Wireman of Jackson. They each received their juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Smallwood has been in private practice focusing on civil litigation for 40 years and has served as an assistant commonwealth’s attorney for Letcher County since 2016.

Vanover is a partner in the law firm of Vanover, Hall & Bartley, and has been in civil practice for 32 years. He has served as an assistant county attorney for Floyd County since 2014.

Wireman is a member of the board of directors for Kentucky Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company and has represented insurance companies for 30 years. She serves as a trial commissioner and master commissioner for Breathitt County.

The judicial seat will become vacant when Judge Janet L. Stumbo retires Dec. 31.

The 7th Appellate District comprises the counties of Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rowan and Wolfe.

From Administrative Office of the Courts

Related Posts

One Comment

  1. Sarah says:

    So nice to see an article about this! Mr. Vanover has practiced law 37 years! Thanks for posting this information.

Leave a Comment