A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

KDNR head Allen Luttrell announces resignation; John D. Small named acting commissioner

Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet Secretary Charles Snavely today announced the resignation of Kentucky Department for Natural Resources Commissioner Allen Luttrell.

Allen Luttrell

Luttrell, of Lawrenceburg, was appointed two years ago to the position by Governor Matt Bevin and provided strong leadership during his tenure that saw the department wage a highly successful campaign during the 2016 fall fire season, create development opportunities through the 2016 AML Pilot program, and significantly reduce reclamation liabilities in Kentucky’s coalfields. He resigned due to personal reasons.

“It’s hard to lose someone of Allen’s caliber,” Secretary Snavely said. “I want to wish him the very best and to thank him personally for his leadership, his vision and his great contribution to both the Cabinet and the Commonwealth.”

Luttrell had served as both the director of Mine Permits and the deputy commissioner of DNR prior to his most recent appointment. He has more than 35 years of combined experience in both underground and surface mining, many of those years in management roles in the Cabinet. 

Secretary Snavely named John D. Small, currently deputy commissioner of the department, as acting commissioner.

From Energy and Environment Cabinet

Related Posts

Leave a Comment