A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

KEEP, RFE approve scholarships for 18 students attending 10 universities or colleges in Kentucky

The Kentucky Equine Education Project Foundation (KEEP) and The Race For Education (RFE) have announced their 2020 scholarship recipients.

The KEEP Foundation board of directors approved more than $21,000 in scholarships to 18 students, attending 10 universities across the Commonwealth. All of the 2020 scholarship recipients are students currently enrolled with a university or college in Kentucky in an equine and/or agriculture-related major or a horse-related program.

In addition to the 18 Kentucky students; The Race For Education awarded it’s annual Robert J. Frankel Scholarship to New York state student, Elsa Loriel. Now, in its 10th year, the Robert J. Frankel Scholarship, in honor of the late Robert (Bobby) J. Frankel, is awarded to a student attending a college or university in California or New York state, pursuing any field of study, whose family is employed in the Thoroughbred industry.

Loriel’s father is a long time assistant trainer to Shug McGaughey and her mother is an exercise rider for Christophe Clement. Loriel, herself an equine enthusiast and photographer, will be majoring in Equine Business and Management at the University of Louisville.

The KEEP Foundation and The Race For Education also awarded it’s first annual RFE/KEEP Veterinary Scholarship. The 2020 RFE/KEEP Veterinary Scholarship is awarded to a student from the state of Kentucky who is intending to enter equine veterinary medicine. This year’s recipient is Lacey Willis. Willis, a Warren County native and Western Kentucky University graduate will be attending her first year of Veterinary School this Fall at Auburn University.

“Having a group of quality students interested in equine careers from around the country, attending universities in Kentucky, truly represents the statewide nature of our industry”, said Elisabeth Jensen, KEEP’s Executive Vice President.

2020 Race For Education KEEP Foundation Scholarship

• Dylan Abrams – Grant County – Midway University
• Celene Correa – Jefferson County – Jefferson Community & Technical College
• Savannah House – Kansas – Morehead State University
• Emily Monroe – Jessamine County – University of Kentucky
• Zoey Norris – Adair County – Campbellsville University
• Maria Oachs – Wisconsin – University of Kentucky
• Rashea Smith – Whitley County – Auburn University
• Madeline Sparks – Harrison County – Midway University
• Landon Thompson – Taylor County – Asbury University
• Maggie Welch – Hardin County – University of Kentucky

2020 4H ‘Leg Up’ Scholarship

• Mackenzie Coil – Marshall County – Murray State University
• Anya Deaton – Campbell County – University of Kentucky
• Lydia Deaton – Campbell County – University of Kentucky
• Alina Knore – Bourbon County – Murray State University
• Madeline Queen – Campbell County – Murray State University
• Sydney Simpson – Henderson County – Murray State University
• Ashley Terrill – Shelby County – University of Kentucky

From Kentucky Equine Education Project

Related Posts

Leave a Comment