A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services recognizes human services employees

The Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) has recognized several human services staff from across the state for their exemplary service to the commonwealth.

The employees, part of the CHFS Department for Community Based Services, were honored at the Governor’s Mansion this week for leadership and accomplishments over the past year.

CHFS Secretary Adam Meier told the honorees they are shining stars of the Cabinet.

“You offer the kind of support to your customers as if they were your own family,” he said. “You go that extra mile to ensure our clients have all the support they need to be stronger, complete families; to find proper assistance and to connect with accessible, life-changing care. You are teachers, confidantes, guides and friends. You really can and have done it all for your clients.”

DCBS Commissioner Adria Johnson said the event spotlights good work across the state – for both caseworkers in the field and administrators in county offices.

“In honoring these individuals, we honor the quality work they have provided to countless vulnerable children, adults and families across the state,” Johnson said. “Their dedication and commitment to public service is exemplary.”

Johnson said the award winners represent the DCBS mission to build an effective and efficient system of care with Kentucky’s citizens and communities.

Four awards honor former DCBS employees. Award winners are chosen from regional nominations.

The award winners are as follows:

Paul T. Grannis Social Services Worker Award: Cicely Tichenor, Fayette County

Tichenor is a Social Service Clinician in the Fayette County Investigation Division.

This award honors the memory of Paul Grannis, a Fleming County family services worker who was killed on May 8, 1987, during a child protection investigation. Grannis received the award posthumously that year.

Sheila Eckler Family Support Specialist Award: April Scott, South Central Service Region, Fayette County

 Scott is a Case Manager Specialist II in Fayette County. Scott provides family-centered services, including needs assessment and explaining agency services.

This award is named for Sheila Eckler, a Pulaski County family support worker who died in a car accident on Jan. 23, 1998, on her way to a meeting in Frankfort.

Boni M. Frederick Social Services Aide Award: Leslie Huber, Salt River Trail Service Region, Oldham County

Huber is a Family Support and Services Aide who provides transportation and other support to children in Oldham County and the rest of the 17-county Salt River Trail Region, which also includes Anderson, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Franklin, Grayson, Hardin, Henry, Larue, Marion, Meade, Nelson, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, Washington and Woodford counties.

This award is named for Frederick, a Morganfield social services aide who died in the line of duty in October 2006.

April Vandeventer Leadership Award: Ragena Kinney, The Lakes Service Region, Christian County   

Kinney is the Service Region Administrator Associate (SRAA) supervising all the Child Protection Service (CPS) Family Service Office Supervisors (FSOSs) for the East Lakes Service Region, serving Christian, Hopkins, Muhlenberg, Todd, Trigg, Livingston, Crittenden, Caldwell and Lyon counties.

The award is named for Vandeventer, of Lawrenceburg, a veteran DCBS manager who died in 2006 after battling cancer.

 Nineteen other employees were honored with Commissioner’s Awards for commitment to quality service through their outstanding achievements and accomplishments in each office.

Learn more about DCBS services online at https://chfs.ky.gov/.

Cabinet for Health and Family Services

Related Posts

Leave a Comment