A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training graduates 30 officers from Basic Training Academy

Thirty law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated today from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates of Class 484 completed 23 weeks of training, which consisted of 923 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 484 graduates and their agencies are:

Jeffrey L. Arena, Christian County Sheriff’s Office
Trenton L. Arnold, Hopkins County Sheriff’s Office
Jacob L. Ashby, Henderson County Sheriff’s Office
Jacob T. Baird, University of KY Police Department
Holden P. Burnham, Mayfield Police Department
Corey B. Charles, Pike County Sheriff’s Office
Justin T. Charles, Richmond Police Department
Timothy P. Childs, Muldraugh Police Department (Outstanding Performance Award for Physical Fitness)
Aaron J. Daniels, Henderson County Sheriff’s Office
Michael A. Ferrell, Hopkinsville Police Department
Michael E. Garner, III, Jenkins Police Department
Christopher A. Hall, Mt. Sterling Police Department (Most Improved Award for Physical Fitness/Defensive Tactics)
Jennifer N. Haynes, Owensboro Police Department
Daniel D. Holbert, Vine Grove Police Department
Ian R. Kirst, Bellevue Police Department
Keria R. Lockett, Mt. Sterling Police Department
Cody W. McDaniel, Mt. Sterling Police Department
Bradley L. Mink, Laurel County Sheriff’s Office
Zachary T. Morris, Owensboro Police Department
Cameron M. Murrell, Glasgow Police Department (Academic Achievement Award, Recruit of Distinction)
Christopher B. Poynter, Glasgow Police Department
Paul J. Ritter, V, Erlanger Police Department
Jared R. Rizzo, University of KY Police Department
Canaan J. Scott, Simpson County Sheriff’s Office
Ramon A. Sotomayor, Mayfield Police Department (Coordinator’s Award)
Spencer T. Turner, Christian County Sheriff’s Office
Robert A. Vander Laan, University of KY Police Department
John M. Vollett, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Joshua L. White, Owensboro Police Department
Micah T. Williams, Mt. Sterling Police Department

From Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training

Related Posts

Leave a Comment