A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training graduates 34 officers from Basic Training Academy

Thirty-four law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated last week from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates of Class 491 completed 23 weeks of training, which consisted of 923 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 491 graduates and their agencies are:

Spencer Arroyo, Western Kentucky University Police Department
Ricky Boswell, Cynthiana Police Department
William Bourne, Nicholasville Police Department
Randy Broadnax, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office
Billy Burton, Hancock County Sheriff’s Office
James Chipps, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office
Harrison Courtney, Nicholasville Police Department
Carrie Davis, Greensburg Police Department
Kristen Dirickson, Owensboro Police Department
Stephen Dobson, Taylor County Sheriff’s Office
Joshua Foust, Bowling Green Police Department
Dylan Hensley, Mt. Vernon Police Department
Benjamin Kunkler, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Robert Martin, Independence Police Department
Zachary McMillen, Bowling Green Police Department
Shane Moore, Webster County Sheriff’s Office
William Murphy, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Richard Pauls, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Terrell J. Perry, Bowling Green Police Department
John Philpot, Cynthiana Police Department
Daniel Pinet, Western Kentucky University Police Department
Jeremy Popovitz, Versailles Police Department
Eric Radford, Versailles Police Department
Jessica Rager, Bowling Green Police Department
Greg Rhoades, Williamsburg Police Department
Estes Rhodes, Corbin Police Department
John Runge, Independence Police Department
Easton Russelburg, Owensboro Police Department
Jordan Scott, Cynthiana Police Department
Brandon Smeltzer, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
Justin Walker, Corbin Police Department
John Wallen, Western Kentucky University Police Department
Jordan Whitlow, Greensburg Police Department
Paul Yezzo, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office

From Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training

Related Posts

Leave a Comment