A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky Distillers’ Association announces Rick Robinson as chairman of Board of Directors for 2019

The Kentucky Distillers’ Association has announced that Rick Robinson, Vice President of Product Supply Chain at Campari America, has been named chairman of the historic group’s Board of Directors for 2019.

This marks the second time Robinson has served as chairman of the non-profit trade group that unites, promotes, protects and elevates the state’s signature Bourbon and distilled spirits industry. He also served as chairman in 2013.

A leading spirits company in the U.S., Campari America boasts a rich, comprehensive portfolio of more than 20 brands, including the Wild Turkey® family of Bourbon and whiskey brands made in Lawrenceburg, Ky.

Rick Robinson

Robinson will serve as KDA Chairman through December 2019. He has extensive knowledge of the spirits category with over 20 years of experience, and is an expert in Bourbon, whiskey, vodka, and rum production.

Robinson assumed his current role at Campari America in 2014, shifting from his position as Site Director at the famed Wild Turkey Distillery in Lawrenceburg, where he managed distillation, barrel handling, and bottling.

Before joining Campari America, Robinson was the Director of Operations for Diageo Americas’ bottling plants and blending areas. He was also the site lead for Diageo’s Lean Manufacturing Initiative, now known as the Perfect Plant.

“Bourbon is not just the hottest category in the US spirits industry, but also one of the fastest growing around the world,” Robinson said. “I look forward to working with our KDA members to promote America’s Native Spirit and all Kentucky spirits, while continuing to build the foundations for growth, supporting all of our dedicated distillers and this great Commonwealth.”

The KDA Board selected officers during its 138th Annual Meeting in downtown Louisville.

The Board also appointed Jessica Pendergrass, Corporate Counsel for Heaven Hill Brands, as Vice Chairman, and Pauline Rooney, Vice President of Distillation, Maturation & Engineering at Diageo North America, as Secretary-Treasurer.

Other Board members for 2019 include:

• Michter’s: Joseph J. Magliocco, President
• Brown-Forman: Campbell Brown, President, Old Forester
• Four Roses: Ryan Ashley, Chief Operating Officer and Director of Distillery Operations
• O.Z. Tyler: Jacob Call, Master Distiller and Director of Operations
• Lux Row: Donn Lux, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
• Louisville Distilling Co.: Wes Henderson, Co-founder and Chief Innovation Officer
• Bardstown Bourbon Co.: David Mandell, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Beam Suntory: Kevin Smith, Vice President, Kentucky Beam Bourbon Affairs

KDA President Eric Gregory applauded the Board for its longstanding support and global vision. “Just as our forefathers realized more than a century ago, we are stronger by coming together to work for the advancement and greater good of our industry,” he said.

“The KDA Board is a powerhouse of industry veterans and visionaries who value the tradition and bolster the integrity of Kentucky’s rich distilling heritage,” Gregory said. “Our members and the KDA staff look forward to another dynamic year for Kentucky Bourbon and distilled spirits.”

From Kentucky Distillers’ Association

Related Posts

Leave a Comment