A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky groups, individuals honored
for ‘unselfishly serving and filling needs’

Fourteen groups and individuals from across the state were honored for their volunteer and service contributions at the Governor’s Awards for Volunteerism and Service.

The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service, a division within Cabinet for Health and Family Services, coordinates the annual awards program. Gov. Steve Beshear and CHFS Deputy Secretary Eric Friedlander presented the awards, which honored service completed in 2013.

“It’s been said that a lot of people doing a little bit can make a big difference,” he said. “You have shown that one person doing a lot, can cause a wave of change,” Beshear told recipients.

A panel of independent judges with experience in volunteerism and/or service chose award recipients in 14 categories.

For the fourth year, a special First Lady’s Award was included to honor a Kentuckian who has gone the extra mile to mentor youth to develop a strong foundation and prevent future school dropouts. This year, the Veteran Volunteer Service Award was added to recognize a veteran who has met a community need beyond his or her military service duties.

Lifetime Achievement winner Ginny Ramsey, left, with Gov. Steve Beshear (Photo provided)

Lifetime Achievement winner Ginny Ramsey, left, with Gov. Steve Beshear (Photo provided)

Ginny Ramsey, co-founder of Lexington’s Catholic Action Center and Community Inn shelter, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Three additional achievement awards were also presented to honor groups for their participation during the state’s Make A Difference Day food drives in October and January.

Here are this year’s award winners and their nominators:

Governor’s Awards for Volunteerism and Service Recipients

· Ginny Ramsey, Lifetime Achievement Award, Lexington/Fayette County, nominated by Kelly Dycus

· Jody Keeley, Challenge Award, Verona/Boone County, nominated by Stephanie Sciamanna

· Humana Government Business, Corporate Award, Louisville/Jefferson County, nominated by Chief (Ret) Mark Grant

· Breaking Bread, Faith-Based Group Award, Madisonville/Hopkins County, nominated by Rick Welch

· Lynda Frazier, First Lady’s Award, Lexington/Fayette County, nominated by Kamla Jones

· Union County Garden Coalition, Group Volunteer Service Award, Morganfield/Union County, nominated by Bradley T. Vowels

· Jason Schubert, Kentucky Ambassador Award, Lexington/Fayette County, nominated by Sarah Hermsmeier

· Bonnie Clark, National Service Award, Owensboro/Daviess County, nominated by Audra Stewart

· Bardstown At Home, Nonprofit Award, Bardstown/Nelson County, nominated by Vivian Fleenor

· Sheila Carroll, Senior Volunteer Service, Covington/Kenton County, nominated by Lindsay Hardebeck

· Sgt. Jerry Hall Jr., Veteran Volunteer Service Award, Leburn/Knott County, nominated by Ashley Hall

· Mark C. Dobbs, Volunteer Coordinator Award, Jeffersontown/Jefferson County, nominated by Marie M. Swanson

· Gary W. Jones, Volunteer Service Award, Versailles/Woodford County, nominated by Lisa C. Johnson

· Nathaniel Jarboe, Youth Volunteer Service Award, Rineyville/Hardin County, nominated by Lori Jarboe

Make A Difference Day Traveling Awards

· MSUCorps, AmeriCorps Program award (school-based)
· Build Corps, AmeriCorps Program award (nonschool-based)
· Two Rivers Service Region, DCBS Region award

MSUCorps, an AmeriCorps school-based program, collected almost 12 tons of nonperishable food items. Their efforts allowed area food banks to feed almost 48,000 Kentuckians an 8-ounce serving. This is the third consecutive win for the MSU Corps. Mary Claire Williams is the program director for Morehead State University’s MSUCorps AmeriCorps program.

Build Corps, an AmeriCorps nonschool-based program, collected more than 8 tons of nonperishable food items, allowing area food banks to feed more than 32,500 Kentuckians an 8-ounce serving. Kelly Dycus is the program director for Homeless and Housing Coalition’s Build Corps AmeriCorps program.

The Two Rivers Service Region’s 505 employees collected 3.19 tons of nonperishable food items, enabling food banks to feed 12,777 Kentuckians. Two Rivers Service Region won the award in both 2006 and 2007. Joey Minor is the Service Region Administrator. The region’s food drive coordinators were Linda Craig, Patti Davidson, Kim Gumm and Ashley Richey. The Two Rivers Service Region includes Allen, Barren, Butler, Daviess, Edmonson, Hancock, Hart, Henderson, Logan, McLean, Metcalfe, Monroe, Ohio, Simpson, Union, Warren and Webster counties.

For more information about the awards program or the KCCVS, visit www.volunteerKY.ky.gov.


Related Posts

Leave a Comment