A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky Small Business Development Center recognizes staff achievement at conference

The Kentucky Small Business Development Center recognized staff members for their achievements at the annual fall conference held in Lexington.

The center’s state director, Becky Naugle, presented the 2016 Centers of the Year to both the University of Kentucky at Elizabethtown Small Business Development Center and Northern Kentucky University SBDC. This award is presented to the center posting the highest results based on annual goals and performance.

The Western Kentucky University SBDC received the 2016 Spirit Award. This award recognizes the center that demonstrated the SBDC spirit of service to the network and clients during the year.

UK at Elizabethtown SBDC, pictured here, and NKU SBDC were named 2016 Centers of the Year (Photo Provided)

UK at Elizabethtown SBDC, pictured here, and NKU SBDC were named 2016 Centers of the Year (Photo Provided)

The Morehead State University center was awarded the Michael Rodriguez Traveling Trophy to acknowledge the largest achievement during the final six months of the fiscal year.

Janet Flaugh of the Louisville SBDC was named 2016 Team Player of the Year for exhibiting a constant willingness to support the network.

Tricia Hudson of the Owensboro SBDC was named 2016 Administration Person of the Year. Hudson was recognized for her diligent work on behalf of clients and fellow co-workers.

The Louisville SBDC was recognized as the 2016 Sutton Landry State Star. This honor is typically presented to an individual who is considered an example of excellence. This year’s recipients mark the first time a group has been recognized.

The staff of the Louisville office make a significant contribution to their center’s program and exhibit an immense dedication to assisting small businesses in their region. The Louisville center was also recognized in Orlando at the America’s Small Business Development Centers annual conference.

Lois Decker of the Owensboro SBDC was presented with the service award in recognition of her 20 years of exemplary service and dedication.

Eleven staff members were inducted into the exclusive Kentucky Small Business Development Center Million Dollar Loan Club. This honor is reserved for management consultants who help business clientele secure $1 million or more in loans to start, expand or purchase their companies. Statewide, KSBDC consultants aided entrepreneurs with more than $33 million in loans during the 2015-2016 fiscal year.

The 2016 inductees were:

Fausto Sarmiento, UK Bluegrass SBDC
Steve Heil and Patricia Krausman, UK Elizabethtown SBDC
David Oetken and Vallorie Henderson, UK Louisville SBDC
Jason Rainey, Eastern Kentucky University SBDC
Kim Jenkins, Mark Murphy and Michelle Spriggs, Morehead SBDC
Brady Parks, Murray SBDC
Rebecca Volpe, Northern Kentucky University SBDC

KSBDC also assists clients on acquiring equity and investments. The top three staff members in total capital infusions were recognized. Patricia Krausman, UK Elizabethtown SBDC; Rebecca Volpe, NKU SBDC; and Mark Murphy, Morehead State SBDC, helped clients receive more than $50 million in capital.

“The economic impact of KSBDC staff’s hard work reaches every county in Kentucky. I am very proud of the contribution SBDC staffs make to our ‘common wealth,’ and it is an honor to recognize their accomplishments,” Naugle said.

KSBDC, part of the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food and Environment, is a network of 13 offices located throughout the state. The center helps existing and start-up businesses succeed by offering high quality, in-depth and hands-on services. KSBDC is a partner program with the U.S. Small Business Administration. For more information on KSBDC services, visit their website,http://www.ksbdc.org/.

From UK Ag News

Related Posts

Leave a Comment