A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s permanent Regional Driver Licensing Office open in Owensboro

By Tom Latek
Kentucky Today

Gov. Andy Beshear has announced that the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s Regional Driver Licensing Office in Daviess County has moved into larger, permanent quarters.

He said the expanded facility, located at 2620 Kentucky Highway 81 in Owensboro will be able to accommodate customers, while maintaining social distancing and all other necessary COVID-19 public health protocols.

This marks the 13th permanent regional office the cabinet has established in a network that eventually will number about two dozen statewide, to handle driver licensing. Like all the other regional offices, the Owensboro facility adheres to Gov. Beshear’s Healthy at Work guidelines to limit the spread of the coronavirus.

“We are offering essential, in-person public services while taking care to do so in a way that protects public health,” said Gov. Beshear. “Those essential services include issuing, renewing and replacing operator’s licenses and official identification cards for our fellow Kentuckians who depend on them for employment, travel and emergencies.”

The new office will process applications for REAL ID or standard licenses and ID cards. Any required driver testing, which is conducted by Kentucky State Police, must have been completed beforehand. An application for a REAL ID must be done in person, with proof of residence, social security and identity at a KYTC regional office.

Those who want to renew or replace a standard-issue license or ID card, can still do so by mail or drop-off with the circuit court clerk in the license holder’s county of residence, provided there has been no change of name or address, and the license holder does not require driver testing by Kentucky State Police.

Beshear has encouraged anyone able to use remote services to do so, thereby limiting person-to-person contact. Forms for renewal or replacement can be downloaded here.

The same services are offered at the other regional driver licensing offices, located in Paducah, Bowling Green, Madisonville, Elizabethtown, Frankfort, Lexington, Morehead, Somerset, Richmond, Columbia, Jackson and Prestonsburg. The Transportation Cabinet also has temporary regional offices, operating by appointment only, in Catlettsburg, Florence and Bowman Field in Louisville.

“The new Owensboro office expands an important customer service,” KYTC Secretary Jim Gray said. “But we are doing so in a way that protects the health and safety of our customers and our employees. That includes social distancing, wearing face masks and having a sanitized work station for every customer.”

The Owensboro office will be open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Central. Applicants may make appointments online at drive.ky.gov.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment