A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Kentucky’s Senate Democratic Caucus elects Senator Morgan McGarvey of Louisville as Floor Leader

The Senate Democratic Caucus has elected Senator Morgan McGarvey, D-Louisville, as its new floor leader.

“I am appreciative of the confidence entrusted in me by my colleagues in the Democrat caucus,” Senator McGarvey said. “I am looking forward to working with the Senate majority while continuing to be a voice for public education, Kentucky’s working families, affordable health care, and economic growth.”

Morgan McGarvey

Senator McGarvey replaces Senator Ray S. Jones, II, D-Pikeville, who was elected Pike County judge-executive in November. Senator McGarvey is one of the youngest members of a general assembly in the nation to serve in leadership and believed to be one of the two youngest at age 36 to serve in leadership in the Senate. He is also the first Louisville party leader since David Karem was in leadership in the Kentucky Senate 14 years ago.

Senator McGarvey is joined by a leadership team that is ready to roll up their sleeves and do what is necessary to help move the state forward and to serve the Democratic caucus.

Serving with Senator McGarvey will be veteran leaders Senator Johnny Ray Turner, D-Prestonsburg, as caucus chair, and Senator Dennis Parrett, D-Elizabethtown, as caucus whip. Senator Turner previously served as caucus chair from 2003 to 2015. Senator Parrett will begin his second term as Democrat whip. He became whip in 2017.

“We bring a great deal of experience and knowledge to Senate leadership,” said Senator McGarvey. “We will work with our colleagues on both sides of the aisle, in the Senate and House, and with Governor Bevin to address the issues facing our commonwealth. I have full confidence in our leadership team and am excited about the work we will do as a caucus in the upcoming session.”

The legislature will convene the 2019 Regular Legislative Session Tuesday, Jan. 8 for a brief organizational session, which will conclude Friday, Jan. 11. Legislators will return to Frankfort Tuesday, Feb. 5, to continue the 2019 Legislative Session.

From Legislative Research Commission

Related Posts

Leave a Comment