A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Lexington Philharmonic’s American Snapshots to present four uniquely American musical visions

The Lexington Philharmonic presents four distinctly American musical visions in American Snapshots on Friday, April 6th at 7:30 p.m. at the Singletary Center for the Arts. LexPhil kicks off the evening with John Harbison’s Foxtrot for Orchestra, followed by Erich Korngold’s cinematic Violin Concerto, featuring William Hagen. Closing the concert, the magic of Aaron Copland’s iconic Appalachian Spring: Suite will delight before a visually spectacular finish in Dave and Chris Brubeck’s Grammy-nominated Ansel Adams: America.

“The works selected for American Snapshots present four distinct and iconic soundscapes – that takes our audience on a journey,” says Music Director and Conductor, Scott Terrell. “We begin in the roaring 20’s with Harbison’s Foxtrot for Orchestra, followed by influential Hollywood film composer Korngold’s cinematic Violin Concerto. Aaron Copland’s simple and heartfelt Appalachian Spring: Suite remains a benchmark of his mastery. The anchor of this program is Dave and Chris Brubeck’s Ansel Adams: America -a multimedia tribute to photography legend, Ansel Adams, with music accompanied by over 100 projected photographs of or by Adams. The sum of these selections is an inspiring night of music, celebrating distinctly American musical visions.”

The work of Chris Brubeck last appeared on the Singletary Center stage in November 2017 with the world premiere of No Borders: Concerto for Canadian Brass and Orchestra. April 6th’s concert features another Brubeck work, Ansel Adams: America, composed by Chris and his father, jazz legend Dave Brubeck. The work is a symphonic tribute saluting America’s most prolific and beloved landscape photographer, Ansel Adams. Though Adams ultimately became a photography legend, he was a talented and classically trained concert pianist, a history that the Brubecks took to heart when composing the commission in 2009. The 22-minute, one-movement piece, fully integrates sweeping melodies with 102 striking images of or by Ansel, licensed and beautifully reproduced specifically for this concert piece.

In addition to presenting another jazz-inspired, moving work by 2017 Saykaly Garbulinksia Composer-in-Residence Chris Brubeck, American Snapshots will also feature the talent of 25-year-old violinist William Hagen. Hagen was the third-prize winner of the 2015 Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition, making him the highest-ranking American since 1985.

“LexPhil is proud to consistently provide young, emerging artists the opportunity to perform with our orchestra,” says Music Director and Conductor Scott Terrell. “William Hagen is a thrilling young talent, whose performance of Korngold’s Violin Concerto is not to be missed.”

Already a seasoned international performer, William Hagen has been hailed as a “brilliant virtuoso…a standout” (The Dallas Morning News) with “an innate command of line and score, and just the right amount of power” (violinist.com). Since his debut with the Utah Symphony at age nine, William has performed with conductors such as Marin Alsop, Christian Arming, Placido Domingo, Miguel Harth-Bedoya, Michel Tabachnik and Hugh Wolff, and with the symphony orchestras of Albany, Buffalo, Fort Worth, Jacksonville, St. Louis, Oregon, Utah, and others. A native of Salt Lake City, Utah, William first heard the violin when he was 3 and began taking lessons at age 4. After studying at the Juilliard School for two years with Itzhak Perlman, William returned to Los Angeles to continue studying with Robert Lipsett at the Colburn Conservatory. He is currently enrolled at the Kronberg Academy in Germany, where he is a student of Christian Tetzlaff. William is an alumnus of the Verbier Academy in Switzerland, the Perlman Music Program, and the Aspen Music Festival, where he spent many summers. He performs on the 1735 “Sennhauser” Guarneri del Gesù, on generous loan from the Stradivari Society of Chicago.

Images utilized in the performance of Ansel Adams: America presented courtesy of The Ansel Adams Publishing Rights Trust. All rights reserved.

The 2017/18 Season Series is presented by Central Bank, Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield, and Tempur Sealy International, Inc. All LexPhil Season Series concerts start at 7:30 p.m. at the Singletary Center for the Arts, unless otherwise noted. For the 2017/2018 season, concert nights alternate between Friday and Saturday, depending on the concert. LexPhil’s New Year’s Eve concert will be at the Lexington Opera House.

Prior to each Season Series concert, guests have the opportunity to participate in an insightful discussion of the night’s events with Maestro Terrell during LexPhil’s Inside the Score. Each Inside the Score starts at 6:45 PM and is held in the President’s Room for concerts at the Singletary Center for the Arts.

Valet parking is available for $10 per car at the Rose Street entrance to the Singletary Center. Capacity for valet parking has been increased. Free parking is available in any E Parking Lot on the UK campus unless otherwise noted, as well as Parking Structure 5 located at 409 S. Limestone, with entrances on S. Limestone and S. Upper Street. A shuttle will run from Parking Structure 5 before concerts beginning at 6:30 PM and after concerts until 9:30 PM to return patrons to the parking garage. In consideration of continued construction on the University of Kentucky campus, please allow for extra time to locate parking.

Tickets to American Snapshots range from $25-75, with $11 student tickets available the day before the concert and just before curtain, as available. Pick Four subscription packages are available, and single tickets are also on sale for all concerts. For ticket information or purchasing, call 859.233.4226 or visit lexphil.org.

LexPhil Season Series: American Snapshots
Friday, April 6th, 7:30 PM
Singletary Center for the Arts

John Harbison

Foxtrot for Orchestra


Violin Concerto
William Hagen, violin


Appalachian Spring: Suite

Dave & Chris Brubeck

Ansel Adams: America

From Lexington Philharmonic

Related Posts

Leave a Comment