A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Murray State, development organizations partner to disburse River Counties Business Stimulus Fund

Murray State University has joined the application review committee of the River Counties Business Stimulus Fund, which helps support small businesses across the Four Rivers Region covering Ballard, Carlisle, Hickman and Fulton counties in Western Kentucky.

The fund was established by the University of Kentucky’s Community and Economic Development Initiative (CEDIK) and the West Kentucky Alliance for a Vibrant Economy (WAVE, Inc.) and the Community Foundation of West KY.

As the ongoing novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic continues to have a severe impact on salons, restaurants, entertainment venues, boutiques and more, the fund provides economic assistance to local businesses, up to $3,000 per applicant.

Applications remain open at this time, provided the business meets the following criteria:

• The business is locally owned

• The business is a for-profit entity

• The business is either a restaurant or experience retail including the arts, tourism, accommodations and entertainment.

The application is available online at cedik.ca.uky.edu/seky-stim-fund under the headline “River Counties Business Stimulus Fund.” Further questions regarding eligibility can be directed to Alison Davis, executive director of the UK CEDIK program, at alison.davis@uky.edu.

WAVE, Inc. along with the judge-executives of the four counties, has delegated private representatives from the state to form a review committee. In addition to the chosen representatives, Murray State and UK’s CEDIK also have representation on the review committee to provide neutral guidance and assure all applications are assessed fairly and without bias.

The review committee meets virtually once per week to analyze all applications and determine new grant recipients.

The fund is supported, in part, by donations; for every $1 received in donations to the fund, CEDIK will match it with another $1, up to $25,000.

Donations are tax-deductible and can be made to WAVE for the River Counties Business Stimulus Fund.

Checks can be mailed directly to WAVE at 297 Kentucky Ave, Kevil, KY 42024. For more information

regarding donations, calls and emails are being accepted by the Ballard County Economic Development Corporation on behalf of WAVE at 270-462-2394 or hannahchretien@brtc.net.

Want more great content like this?

Become a sustaining member of KyForward with a tax-deductible donation today and help us continue to provide accurate, up-to-date local news and information you can depend on.

Click here to donate now!

“This is a great example of how individuals and organizations across the Commonwealth can come together to support each other and strive to address the issues derived from this pandemic,” said Chris Wooldridge, director of the Murray State University Center for Economic and Entrepreneurial Development (CEED). “Murray State is honored and privileged to be a part of this effort and I am thankful for the opportunity to work with Dr. Davis and Ms. Chretien.”

Additionally, CEED continues to work with partners across the region to help small businesses navigate the economic impact of the ongoing pandemic.

Located inside the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business and led by Mr. Chris Wooldridge as director, the Center has compiled an informational resource guide for businesses, participated in informational conference calls and virtual meetings with regional and state officials, offered consulting and planning to small businesses and more.

CEED covers 24 counties across Western Kentucky and provides no-cost, confidential consulting on a wide variety of topics. For more information or to get started, please contact CEED at 270-809-2495, visit bit.ly/MSUCEED or email Wooldridge at cwooldridge@murraystate.edu.

From Murray State University

Related Posts

Leave a Comment