A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Newly-inducted poet laureate Frank X Walker receives standing ovation at capitol ceremony

Kentucky’s youngest and first African-American poet laureate was inducted yesterday in a ceremony at the State Capitol Rotunda.

Newly-inducted Poet Laureate Frank X Walker blows a kiss to the crowd who gave him a standing ovation following his remarks. (Photo from KAC)

Frank X Walker will be the 2013-14 Kentucky Poet Laureate. He spoke and read from some of his work. Also reading were past laureates Maureen Morehead, Gurney Norman, Jane Gentry Vance, Sena Jeter Naslund, Joe Survant and Richard Taylor.
Kentucky Writers’ Day was the occasion for the induction ceremony, April 24. It celebrates the strong literary tradition of our state and the birthday of Kentucky native Robert Penn Warren, the first poet laureate of the United States and winner of three Pulitzer Prizes.
The induction ceremony was organize by the Kentucky Arts Council. Gov. Steve Beshear was on hand to congratulate Walker. For a copy of his remarks, click here.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment