A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Outstanding state employees honored during 2019 Governor’s Ambassador Award ceremony

Fifteen employees of the Commonwealth were awarded the 2019 Governor’s Ambassador Award (GAA) in a ceremony held at the Governor’s Mansion on Thursday.

State employees who have positively influenced the lives of co-workers, customers, or the community are recognized through the award program. This year, the Personnel Cabinet received more than 160 nominations.

Gov. Matt Bevin (left) presents David Lassiter with the Courage Award during the Governor’s Ambassador Award ceremony.

“I would challenge you and challenge your colleagues, and each of us as individuals, to every day give back a little more than we take and Kentucky’s greatest days will be ahead,” Gov. Matt Bevin said.

There are six nomination categories for state employees: customer service, courage, leadership, professional achievement, teamwork, and community service and volunteerism. The GAA program encourages, supports and recognizes employees who embody the spirit of “We Are Kentucky.”

“It’s not an overstatement to say that the employees of the Commonwealth are its greatest asset. State employees make this more than a job, they make it a passion and career of service,” Personnel Secretary Thomas B. Stephens said. “It speaks volumes that we had more than 160 employees, from every agency and corner of Kentucky. Thank you to our employees who exemplify leadership, courage, and excellence daily, and congratulations to this year’s winners.”

A selection committee presents three finalists from each category to Bevin for the awards. Bevin selects the winner for each category. This is the ninth year for the event.

Please see below for a list of winners.

• Courage Award: David Lassiter, Park Ranger, Tourism, Arts & Heritage Cabinet

• Teamwork Award: Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources Team

• Leadership Award: Greg Berry, Staff Attorney Supervisor, Department of Public Advocacy

• Community Service & Volunteerism Award: Dianna Shashina, Kentucky State Police

• Customer Service Award: Natasha Kloeker, Court Designated Worker

• Professional Achievement Award: Janice Johnston, Department for Behavioral Health

From Personnel Cabinet

Related Posts

Leave a Comment