A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Paul Laurence Dunbar junior Gal named Lexington’s Youth Leader of the Year, wins $500 scholarship

A junior at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Zsombor Gal, was named Lexington’s “Youth Leader of the Year” during the 2016-17 Youth Salute awards ceremonies last week at Transylvania University.

He received a $500 scholarship and an all-expense paid trip, provided by Holifield Photography, to attend the National Council on Youth Leadership conference at Washington University in St. Louis.

Zsombor Gal (Holifield Photography)

Anne Boggess of Henry Clay High School also received the paid trip to St. Louis for the Oct. 21-24 conference, along with a $125 scholarship from Central Bank and Trust Co. She and Zsombor will join other Youth Salute leaders from across the nation at this fall’s four-day event.

At the Transy ceremony in Lexington, Youth Salute recognized individual school winners from 54 Central Kentucky high schools, including these from Fayette County Public Schools:

— Bryan Station: Drake Witt;
— Carter G. Woodson Academy: Cameron Compton;
— Henry Clay: Anne Boggess;
— Lafayette: Jordan Vescio;
— Paul Laurence Dunbar: Zsombor Gal;
— STEAM Academy: Claire Page; and
— Tates Creek: Rosaline Lobbo.

Scholarship recipients included Sydney Carter of Dunbar, $4,000 from Asbury University; Tejaswini Sudhakar of Dunbar, $4,000 from Georgetown College; and RoyseAnn Day of Tates Creek, $4,000 from Transylvania University.

Also, an ACT/SAT preparation course valued at $500, provided by Central Kentucky Class 101, went to Rosaline Lobbo of Tates Creek.

Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership. Students are nominated in their junior year by their high school counselors, teachers, principals, or other community leaders.

From FCPS Communications

Related Posts

Leave a Comment