A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

People in the News: Joynt named president of KyCPA; Fayette diabetes program nationally accredited

Kevin Joynt, CPA, was recognized as president of the Kentucky Society of CPAs (KyCPA) at its Leadership Luncheon and Annual Members Meeting at The Olmsted in Louisville. He officially begins his duties July 1.

Joynt is the managing director of Deloitte and Touche LLP’s Louisville office. He has more than 18 years of experience providing audit, accounting, consulting, and tax services to clients in the health care, manufacturing, and insurance industries.

Kevin Joynt

He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from University of Kentucky. In addition to his service on the KyCPA Board of Directors and Executive Committee, he has also been actively involved with several other KyCPA committees, including the Audit Committee, Awards & Nominations Committee, and BASE Camp Task Force. He has also served as an Educational Foundation Trustee and as chair of the Leadership Council.

He is a member of the American Institute of CPAs, and serves on the board of directors for several community and civic organizations including immediate past chair of Junior Achievement of Kentuckiana, and Jefferson Country Public Education Foundation.

Joynt and his wife, Cara, live near Eastwood and are the parents of three children.

The KyCPA president is a volunteer position elected by the Society’s general membership. The president serves one year, offering leadership and guidance, enforcing bylaws, presiding over the executive committee and working with the board of directors to govern the Society.

The Kentucky Society of CPAs (KyCPA) also welcomed new members to its board of directors. The incoming board members, along with new members of the executive committee and other members of the 2017-18 board of directors, officially begin their duties July 1.

New members of the 2017-18 KyCPA board of directors are:

Douglas Allen of Kentucky Community & Technical College System, Versailles
Heather Cochran of RFH in Lexington
Esther Thompson-Long of LG&E and KU Services Company, Louisville
Mike Campbell of Vendminder, Elizabethtown, who will also serve on the executive committee

Other members of the KyCPA board include:

Kevin Joynt, president of Deloitte & Touche, Louisville
William Jessee, immediate president, of Henderman Jessee & Company, Louisville
Rebecca Phillips, president-elect, of MCM CPAs & Advisors, Louisville
Elizabeth Woodward, secretary-treasurer, of Dean Dorton, Lexington
John Chamberlin of Van Gorder Walker, Erlanger

Steve Daniels of T&C Contracting, Louisville, who is also a member of the executive committee
Kris Kemp of Myriad CPA Group, Owensboro
Skip Looney of Rudler, Fort Wright, who is also a member of the executive committee
Wes Omohundro of Allen Company, Inc., Lexington
Elizabeth Rankin of ANEW 401k TPA, Louisville
Marisa Smith of Airgas MidAmerica, Bowling Green

Diabetes program nationally accredited

The Lexington-Fayette County Health Department’s “Healthy Living with Diabetes” program received national accreditation from the American Association of Diabetes Educators.

This will allow people with diabetes in Fayette County to received increased access to quality diabetes education services. The application process took more than a year to complete national standards.

Congratulations to Melissa Smith, Nancy Hiner, Laura Martinez, Carol Hisle, Tara Mason and Tami Ross for this exciting honor.

To learn how our diabetes program can help you, call 859-288-2446.

Wooldridge elected to Delta Leadership Network Advisory Council

The Delta Leadership Network (DLN) recently held an orientation for new members of its 2017-18 advisory council, including Chris Wooldridge of Murray who joins Brad Davis with the Purchase Area Development District in representing Kentucky.

Wooldridge is the Kentucky Small Business Development Center (SBDC) district director for the Murray State SBDC and Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business.

Chris Wooldridge

DLN provides graduates of the annual Delta Leadership Institute’s Executive Academy with opportunities to engage in continued learning, information sharing, and collaboration at regional levels within their state and across the Delta region. The Advisory Council promotes collaborative projects and networking that help alumni support community and economic development projects that will help create and retain jobs, build local communities, and improve lives.

“Chris is an outstanding leader who contributes a great deal to the growth and development of the west Kentucky and Delta region,” said DRA Chairman Chris Masingill. “I look forward to working with this incredibly accomplished set of Delta leaders to improve the capacity of our local leadership.”

The advisory council also helps to plan DLN’s annual conference, which brings together more than 200 alumni to discuss policy areas important to the region’s success and learn about new models for community improvement. Wooldridge was elected by fellow DLN members in Kentucky and confirmed by Delta Regional Authority leadership to serve a one-year term.

“The Delta Region Authority continues to be a very important partner in growth for the eight states of the delta region. It is both a pleasure and an honor to serve on the Delta Regional Advisory Council to provide feedback and support for the Commonwealth and the delta region,” said Wooldridge.

LRC’s John Snyder to receive 2017 Carter/Hellard Award

A longtime Kentucky transportation policy expert is being recognized as one of the South’s top state legislative staff members with today’s announcement that the Legislative Research Commission’s John Snyder will receive the Southern Legislative Conference’s 2017 Carter/Hellard Legislative Staff Award.

The award is given annually to a legislative staff member from across 15 Southern states who demonstrates a longstanding commitment to a legislative institution, understands the role of legislative staffing in representative government, and approaches legislative work with grace and good humor under pressure.

John Snyder

Snyder said he was “absolutely speechless” upon learning that he would receive the award.

“Public recognition is not something you come to expect as a legislative staffer,” Snyder said. “I am still not quite sure I consider myself worthy of such an honor. Out of the 28 distinguished recipients of this award, I am especially humbled to be joining three other Kentucky recipients with whom I have been immensely proud to work with at LRC: former Deputy Director Peggy Hyland, former Director and award namesake Vic Hellard, who saw something in me 28 years ago when he hired me as a kid fresh out of grad school, and Sheila Mason, my first boss and a woman whom I have been blessed to have as a mentor throughout my career.

“I also appreciate LRC Director David Byerman for submitting my name in nomination, and was deeply touched by the sentiments he expressed in his letter. Being chosen to receive the Carter/Hellard Award is truly one of the highlights of my legislative career.”

The Carter/Hellard Award is named in honor of the late Sam Carter, a former Director of Research of the South Carolina House of Representatives, and the late Vic Hellard, Jr., who served as Director of Kentucky’s Legislative Research Commission for nearly two decades until his 1995 retirement.

Snyder, a University of Louisville graduate, joined LRC as an Analyst and Project Manager for the agency’s Program Review staff in 1989. After serving as an Analyst for the agency’s Transportation Staff from 1997 to 2004, he was promoted to his current position as Committee Staff Administrator for Transportation.

Staff report

Related Posts

Leave a Comment