A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

People in the News: KCTCS’s Shreffler named to board; Fitzpatrick joins Blue Grass Community Foundation

Dr. Paul Schreffler, vice chancellor, Economic Development and Workforce Solutions, at the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) recently joined the board of directors of the Foundation for Kentucky Industry (FKI).

The not-for-profit foundation, which is aligned with the Kentucky Association of Manufacturers, works to attract, educate, and retain talent for the Commonwealth’s manufacturing industries.

Dr. Paul Schreffler

“We are pleased to have Dr. Schreffler join the board,” said Mary C. Breeding, president and CEO of FKI. “Dr. Schreffler brings a wealth of experience to the Foundation’s work of preparing Kentucky’s students for exciting careers in 21st century manufacturing.”

FKI is a state-wide, not-for-profit, on a mission to strengthen Kentucky’s most important economic indicator – manufacturing, and the qualified personnel manufacturing needs to drive it.

FKI’s board of directors is comprised of manufacturing, education, economic development and public policy leaders.

Project and program partners currently include Lightweight Innovations for Tomorrow (LIFT), JPMorgan Chase, Kentucky Federation of Advanced Manufacturing Education (KY FAME), business and public partners.

Scott Fitzpatrick joins Blue Grass Community Foundation

Blue Grass Community Foundation welcomes Scott Fitzpatrick as vice president of advancement.

Fitzpatrick brings 14 years of experience in fundraising and advancement and ten years of experience in the financial services industry. For the past three years he has served as the vice president of advancement for Midway University.

Scott Fitzpatrick

Scott received a BA from Georgetown College and an MA from the University of Alabama. He lives in Lexington with his wife of 25 years, Donna Jo, and is an active member of the Bluegrass Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals and Calvary Baptist Church.

“Scott’s people skills and expertise in development and advancement have already made him a key addition to the Foundation,” said Lisa Adkins, President/CEO of the Blue Grass Community Foundation. “We are delighted to have him on board.”

Blue Grass Community Foundation is a public charity established by local citizens almost 50 years ago to promote giving and improve the quality of life in Lexington and the many communities it serves across Central and Eastern Kentucky.

Since 1967, the Community Foundation has awarded more than $68.5 million in grant funding to thousands of organizations, including $6.5 million in FY2016. To learn more about Blue Grass Community Foundation, visit www.bgcf.org or contact President/CEO Lisa Adkins at 859.225.3343.

Marketing Support Services expands digital development team

Cincinnati-based Marketing Support Services (MSS) announces that Lance Deters has joined its technology department as an additional Web Developer.

Lance Deters

Deters attended technical college in St. Louis, Missouri before relocating to Northern Kentucky. He is an experienced Software Developer who has held the positions of Analyst at Wells Fargo, Technician at Scottrade, and was a freelance Java Developer.

“Lance is a great addition to our technology group as we continue to expand our technical capabilities and provide broader service offerings to our clients,” said Bill Souders, Director of IT at MSS.

“I decided to join the MSS team because of the company’s culture, their knowledge in the industry, and strong client relationships. I’m excited to be able to help the company continue to grow,” said Lance.

MSS, a leading provider of full-service product fulfillment, is headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio and offers a wide variety of services including: traditional and e-commerce fulfillment, comprehensive contact center services and is the designer and owner of the proprietary sales lead generation and management system, eTrak. www.callmss.com.

Pamela Wurgler receives MSU Outstanding Music Faculty Award

Pamela Wurgler, chair of Murray State University’s Department of Music in the College of Humanities and Fine Arts, recently received the twelfth annual Dr. Charles and Marlene Johnson Outstanding Music Faculty Award.

The award is conferred each year to a full-time faculty member in the University’s department of music. The selection committee chooses a winner from the pool of faculty members active in the department for at least six years.

Pamela Wurgler

“I am extremely honored to be selected as the recipient of this award,” said Wurgler. “I am also indebted to Charles and Marlene Johnson, who have been so generous in support of music and University initiatives.”

“Dr. Wurgler is deserving of this honor, and I appreciated the opportunity to see her receive this award to a standing ovation by all music majors and faculty,” stated Staci Stone, interim dean of the College of Humanities and Fine Arts.

The Johnson Award winner also receives a sum of $1,000 to be spent on professional expenses.

Murray State University provides an “Opportunity Afforded” for more than 10,000 students through a high-quality education with experiential learning, academic and personal growth and the ability to secure a lifetime of success. The University’s main campus is located in Murray, Ky. and includes five regional campuses. For more information on Murray State University, please visit murraystate.edu.

Staff report

Related Posts

Leave a Comment