A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Six Kentucky high school student-athletes involved in agriculture earn scholarships from KHSAA, KDA

Agriculture Commissioner Dr. Ryan Quarles has announced the six Kentucky high school student-athletes involved in agriculture that have been named the 2020 Ag Athletes of the Year by the Kentucky High School Athletic Association and the Kentucky Department of Agriculture.

“Typically, I join these outstanding, agriculturally-minded student-athletes on the floor of Rupp Arena to award these scholarships, but unfortunately the coronavirus pandemic prevents us from celebrating together,” Quarles said. “These scholarships will help these students offset the ever-increasing cost of continuing their education at a college or vocational school.

Ryan Quarles

“I congratulate them and wish them well as they pursue their education, wherever they choose to go.”

Two $2,000 scholarships and four $1,000 scholarships were awarded. The honorees are:

• Outstanding Ag Athlete of the Year: William Garrett, Bethlehem High School in Bardstown ($2,000)
• Outstanding Ag Athlete of the Year: Ellie McGowan, Crittenden County ($2,000)
• Marisa Brown, Menifee County
• Konnor Mason, South Warren
• Abigail Mattingly, Washington County
• Sherman Moran, Mason County

Ninety student-athletes, 54 females and 36 males, applied for the 2020 Ag Athlete Awards, and a committee selected the winners. The one-time scholarships, payable to an institution of higher learning, are awarded to high school seniors involved in athletics and agriculture who plan on continuing their education at a two- or four-year institution or trade school.

The scholarships are supported by the “Ag Tag” Fund, which is financed by voluntary donations from Kentucky motorists when they buy or renew their farm vehicle license plates.

The Ag Athletes of the Year are usually revealed and presented with awards by Commissioner Quarles during the Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet Sixteen State Basketball Tournament at Rupp Arena in Lexington, but the 2020 tournament was postponed indefinitely because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

From Kentucky Department of Agriculture

Related Posts

Leave a Comment