A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Ted Bassett headlines honorees at Bluegrass Tomorrow 2020 Vision Awards Breakfast on Wednesday

Ted Bassett, who spent more than 40 years as president, general manager and chairman of the board and trustee at the Keeneland Association, headlined the honorees at Bluegrass Tomorrow’s Vision Awards Breakfast on Wednesday at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort.

Ted Bassett

Also among the honorees are Dr. Michael Benson, former president of Eastern Kentucky University, Walker Hancock of Claiborne Farm, and Claude Christensen, the former mayor of Sadieville and outgoing chairman of Bluegrass Tomorrow.

The annual Vision Awards Breakfast is a time-honored tradition paying tribute to the best of the 18-county Bluegrass Region each year, related to improving quality of life and place, Bluegrass Tomorrow’s mission.

Bassett will be honored with the Josephine Abercrombie Award, the highest honor Bluegrass Tomorrow bestows and named for the original trustee of the organization and owner of Pin Oak Stud.

Benson will be awarded the Excellence in Education Vision Award, for his service to the region and successful tenure as president of EKU. Christensen has chaired Bluegrass Tomorrow for the last two years, and has been integrally involved in many regional programs, especially Bluegrass Tomorrow’s Regional Land Use Partnership initiative.

Also presented Vision Awards:

• The Bluegrass Alliance (Spirit of the Bluegrass Vision Award)
• Stewart Home & School in Frankfort (Human Services Award)
• Scott Anderson, Madison County Schools Food Service Director (Food & Agriculture Award)
• Jomo Thompson, the Burl, a 300-person entertainment and music venue in the Lexington Distillery District (Young Professionals/Diversity Award)
• the Grace Café’ in Danville (Community Project Award)

In addition, a featured panel discussion on “Vision for Education in the Bluegrass” included the region’s three new presidents — Dr. Koffi Akakpo of Bluegrass Community and Technical College, Dr. William Jones of Georgetown, and Dr. Kevin Brown of Asbury.

From Bluegrass Tomorrow

Related Posts

Leave a Comment