A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Thirteen students from across Kentucky selected for Commissioner’s Student Advisory Council

Kentucky Teacher

Thirteen Kentucky public high school students have been named to the Commissioner’s Student Advisory Council, a group that provides input to Kentucky Commissioner of Education Wayne Lewis.

The newly-selected members will serve the remainder of the school year. Sophomores and juniors will have the opportunity to serve again in Fall 2019. The new members include:

Natalie Baker – 10th grade, Washington County High School
Sofia Farmer – 10th grade, Danville High School (Danville Independent)
Laila Hayes – 10th grade, duPont Manual High School (Jefferson County)
Hailey Howard – 12th grade, Russell County High School
Michael Johnson – 11th grade, Marshall County High School
Ying Lin – 10th grade, Bardstown High School (Bardstown Independent)
Katelynn Perkins – 11th grade, Glasgow High School (Glasgow Independent)
Kelby Rose – 12th grade, Powell County High School
Caleb Spencer – 11th grade, Wolfe County High School
Alex Stine – 12th grade, Kentucky School for the Blind
Grayson Thurman – 12th grade, Franklin County High School
Lauren Witt – 11th grade, Glasgow High School (Glasgow Independent)
Luke Wyatt – 11th grade, Marshall County High School

The 13 news members join 11 returning members:

Mi’Keyla Crumble – 10th grade, Kentucky School for the Deaf
Devin Davis – 12th grade, Scott County High School
Laura Duke – 12th grade, iLEAD Academy/Owen County High School
Joshua Griffith – 11th grade, Russell High School (Russell Independent)
Anastasia Pohlgeers – 11th grade, Campbell County High School
William Powers – 12th grade, Somerset High School (Somerset Independent)
Brenden Quirk – 12th grade, Eastern High School (Jefferson County)
Grace Raber – 12th grade, Paducah Tilghman High School (Paducah Independent)
Carson Sims – 12th grade, Graves County High School
Parker Stobaugh – 11th grade, South Warren High School (Warren County)
Allison Tu – 12th grade, duPont Manual High School (Jefferson County)

The group will meet in Frankfort on Feb. 13.

The purpose of the council is to provide valuable feedback from Kentucky students and to engage student leaders in learning by doing. This group will meet with the commissioner and Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) staff to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting public school students throughout Kentucky and provide feedback – from a student perspective – on critical issues impacting Kentucky students and schools.

Kentucky Teacher is a publication of the Kentucky Department of Education.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment