A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Volunteers across state honored for service during annual Governor's Service Awards

Winners of the 20th annual Governor's Service Awards (Photo from Facebook)

Newest winners of the Governor’s Service Awards (Photo from Facebook)


Fourteen groups and individuals from across the state have been honored for their volunteer and service contributions.

Lt. Gov. Crit Luallen and Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services Secretary Audrey Tayse Haynes presented the Governor’s Service Awards in Frankfort for service completed in 2014.

The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service, a division within CHFS, coordinates the annual awards program, which was launched in 1975. Since 1995, the KCCVS has administered the program.

“Volunteer service is the greatest gift you can give to your community, and we are here today to recognize that,” Luallen said. “Your service has met critical, immediate needs and has paved a path for a better future for thousands of Kentuckians.”

A panel of independent judges with experience in volunteerism and/or service chose award recipients in 14 categories.

Virginia Braswell, full-time volunteer executive director of the Owensboro Habitat for Humanity for more than 20 years, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

A list of award winners and their nominators follows:

· John Salyers, Kentucky Ambassador Award, Independence/Kenton County. Nominated by Adam Howard

· Melissa Phelps, Challenge Award, Warsaw/Gallatin County. Nominated by Kristen Edwards

· The Fuller Center, Faith-Based Group Award, Louisville/Jefferson County. Nominated by Donald Keller

· Lesley Nord, First Lady’s Award, Shepherdsville/Bullitt County. Nominated by Jennifer Cave

· Rotary Club of Cadiz, Group Volunteer Service Award, Cadiz/Trigg County. Nominated by Brenda Southwick

· Virginia Braswell, Lifetime Achievement Award, Owensboro/Daviess County. Nominated by David Clark

· Kentucky College Coaches, National Service Group Award, Statewide. Nominated by Kristen Hedgebeth

· Wanda Hipps, National Service Individual Award, Owensboro/Daviess County. Nominated by A. Raven McCrady

· Housing Opportunities of Northern Kentucky (HONK), Nonprofit Organization Award, Covington/Kenton County. Nominated by Sister Cathy Bauer

· Adrian D. Wallace, Veteran Volunteer Service Award, Lexington/Fayette County. Nominated by Jennifer Wallace

· Susan Guess, Volunteer Service Award, Paducah/McCracken County. Nominated by Maurie McGarvey

· Catherine Mitchell, Volunteer Coordinator Award, Lexington/Fayette County. Nominated by Jessica Proskin

· Hailey Simpson, Youth Volunteer Service Award, Goshen/Oldham County. Nominated by Leah Simpson

· Hannah Irvine, Youth Volunteer Service Award, Ashland/Boyd County. Nominated by Bill Burch

From Cabinet for Health and Family Services

Related Posts

Leave a Comment