A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

William J. Jones presented with 16th annual Leadership Kentucky Flame of Excellence Award

Leadership Kentucky, a statewide leadership development program, held its 16th annual Alumni Luncheon in Lexington at Keeneland last week where the Flame of Excellence award was presented to William J. Jones.

The Flame of Excellence award honors an outstanding Kentuckian who bravely goes before and lights the way for others. William (Bill) J. Jones is a Community Banking Division Manager with U.S. Bank, based in Paducah. Jones began his career with the bank in 1985 and is responsible for all community banking operations in Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, and Kansas. He is a CPA and honors graduate from Western Kentucky University.

Mary Michael Corbett, 2017 Board Chair of Leadership Kentucky, presented the Flame of Excellence award to William J. Jones at the annual Alumni Luncheon (Photo provided)

“To me, Leadership Kentucky helps individuals develop a deeper appreciation and respect for Kentucky and a sense of responsibility to help make it better. Without a doubt, my experience with having gone through Leadership Kentucky has helped me both professionally and civically,” said Jones.

Jones’ service to Kentucky has spanned more than 30 years beginning with his work as an alumnus and board member of Leadership Kentucky following his year in the 1987 Class. Jones has served on the boards of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce; the Paducah Chamber of Commerce; the Economic Development Partnership Board of Kentucky; the Four Rivers Council of the Boy Scouts of America; and WKU Alumni.

Jones continued, “The appreciation I gained from having gone through Leadership Kentucky for the different regions and needs of those regions helped me in finding common causes to support and champion.”

Past recipients of the Flame of Excellence award:

2002 – Dr. Thomas D. Clark, Kentucky Historian Emeritus
2003 – Edward T. “Ned” Breathitt, Former Governor
2004 – John R. Hall, Retired Chairman/CEO, Ashland Inc.
2005 – Martha Layne Collins, Former Governor; Chair/CEO, Kentucky World Trade Center
2006 – Wendell H. Ford, U.S. Senate, Retired; Wendell H. Ford Government Education Center
2007 – Albert P. Smith, Jr., Retired Host, “Comment on Kentucky”
2008 – David A. Jones, Founder & Former Board Chairman, Humana, Inc.
2009 – Eula Hall, Founder, Mud Creek Clinic
2010 – Owsley Brown Frazier, Founder & Chairman, Frazier International History Museum
2011 – Dr. Pearse T. Lyons, Founder & CEO, Alltech
2012 – William T. Samuels, Jr., Chairman Emeritus, Maker’s Mark Distillery, Inc.
2013 – Dr. Lee T. Todd, Jr., Past President, University of Kentucky
2014 – Bill Goodman, Host, Kentucky Educational Television
2015 – John A Williams, Founder and Chairman, CSI
2016 – Helen Carroll, Carroll Project Planning, Toyota (Retired)

Leadership Kentucky, created in 1984 as a non-profit educational organization, brings together a selected group of people that possess a broad variety of leadership abilities, career accomplishments, and volunteer activities to gain insight into complex issues facing the state. The Leadership Kentucky Foundation offers three unique programs: Leadership Kentucky, Elevate Kentucky, and New Executives to Kentucky.

From Leadership Kentucky

Related Posts

Leave a Comment